January 11, 2004

  •                                   Notes From the


    Garden Journal


     


    This morning I was sitting with some friends indulging in the usual chatter that goes on at such gatherings, along with the pastries and caffinated hot water.


     


    Some of us began to discuss what each of us wished he or she had with regard to a specific ability or talent. A good friend next to me expressed that he wished he were more musical. He told us this was because he is often too analytical and mathematical. I conveyed my wish that I were more mathematical. Although I’m pretty analytical, I do not work well with expansive numbers, and as such conveyed my regrets. A girl in our group expressed her wish that she could sing well. Another wished he could be a better public speaker.


     


    As that question completed its rounds at the table, a second question most naturally emerged: What is the singular talent for which you are the most thankful. When I fianlly answered, I expressed to them that in all honesty it was not a talent or ability that made me the most grateful. It was quite something else entirely. My friends of course immediately interjected that I should without further delay give them something of a craft or an ability. This, after all, was where I would be free to brag a little (…or perhaps exaggerate some.) But I honestly don’t see myself as the soul possessor of any one single and highly crafted talent or ability which defines me. I am and always have been defined, it seems, in other ways. So, some of the things for which I am truly appreciative are the dear friends I keep and the time and memories that we have shared. The places, events, songs, the laughter, the bond, which are fully things eternal. My talents or abilities, such that they are, are a fun way for me to make sure I can eat every month, give to others or pass idle time. But my friends and family without question are the undying and ever growing gift for which I shall always be by far the most earnestly beholden.


     


    -Blogbat


     


     


    Notes from the Garden Journal

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories