November 24, 2004

  • SITE BLUPDATE


     


    Happy Thanksgiving! This of course the American Holiday where we give thanks and eat turkey. The reason this is not celebrated in England is because in World War I Turkey gave thanks and ate the brits.


     



     


    - Which segues nicely into a peculiar experience I had recently where I overheard a disturbingly strange conversation at an internet café. Naturally, I couldn’t understand a word of anything either of the two said and was amazed they could understand each other – but when I heard my name mentioned, I perked up and began to furiously scribble down every word.


     


    Here’s what they said:


     


    La Frogette: Hélas! Une bonne nouvelle de Blogbat…


     


    Der Kerl: Wie…? NA! Der Blogbat…so klug und lustig, frisch, leicht und bequem wie immer! Sag mal, was sonst hat der Blogbat neulich getan?  


     


    La Frogette: Je n’en sais rien. Mais il est un chacal astucieux, n’est ce pas?


     


    Der Kerl: Ach was – soweit ich weiss ist er eigentlich ein Wombat – so hat er uns schon vielmal diese Forderung gemacht…


     


    La Frogette: Pas du tout!


       


    Then some sort of scuffle ensued. Der Kerl obviously forgetting that though France is known for its historic surrenders, their women are still prima feisty.


     


     


    So moving on, it’s time for a Blogbatory update:


     


     


    Turkey Week


    I will be AFB this week as I busy myself with holiday faire and dedicate my free time to preparing my new blog for publication. I have been spending a lot of time recently working on that – from finding the best host and format, to making a decision about its visuals, as I mentioned a time or two earlier. Since the need for a proper place to opine won’t go away, I’ve decided to focus all of my energies on going live at the new spot as soon as humanely possible. No really, humanely. Hopefully you’ll find post-xanga Blogbat mucho better in not a few respects.  


     


    Make My Day


    Go ahead and bookmark the new address: www.blogbat.us. Once everything is ready to go the teaser page presently up will be replaced with a start page linking to the blog(s) along with other offerings to come later, some with perhaps a bit of input from Dogbat…


     


    It has after all been a slow news week so far, right? Aside from the threat of riots in Kiev (apparently they have their own Al Gore copycat criminals in Ukraine) and aircraft of ex-presidents coming down just a stone’s throw from some Houston horses I used to lease.


     


    And I suppose we also found out this week as well that the great CBS Newsnazi, the grand pooba of catty good-ol’ boy-ism is calling it quits. Most of us could fairly see that on the horizon as a post-election mortem. What more can we say? Rather’s Bushed.


     


    And may Charlie Brown top the headlines until I return…


     


     


     



     


    ____________________________________________________________


     


     


    Blogbat: ein Fahrgeschäft durch die Weltnachrichten … bald unterwegs


     

Comments (2)

  • Sending love from me and the kids… I hope you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  • Happy Turkey Day, Blogbat!!

    PS…I’m getting the sense that one of the particapants in the conversation was defending your honor.

    Judith

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *