January 2, 2004

  • Garden Journal Special Edition

    HAPPY NEW YEAR 2004!

    …Brought to you by the BlogCam™ Pix-n-Flix hidden photo and video digicam

    (The
    BlogCam is a hidden camera Blogbat uses from time to time. At some
    point, I may be able to upload these directly to Xanga or another site
    in real time, so stay tuned. Not all shots are neccesarily taken by
    Blogbat)

     

    Twas
    quite a holiday for the ‘ol Blogbat, who visited friends and family far
    and wide and even somehow got stuck in Arkansas for a day. And not just
    any metropolis in this bustling state, but the busy college town of
    Brinkley (dripping with sarcasm).

     

    But
    not to worry, the local hayseeds were in plentiful amount and ready to
    save the day. It was of course greatly comforting to be able to call
    AAA when one of the belts and a related part gave up the ghost.

     

     

    So
    a Mr. McBride (a local Baptist minister) of AAA (his address is in the
    phone book) shows up and confirms my fears, but offers to quickly fix
    my car so that I can be off again the next day. I agree and find a room
    for Dogbat and me at the el-cheapo (but locally VERY fancy) Super8
    hotel across the way. The next day Arrives, no car. So rent a car to
    complete my trip on Christmas day with the comforting assurances my car
    will be fixed as soon as Christmas is over and the parts can be
    over-nighted. Of course, Mr McBride became more and more dodgy over the
    phone, appearing irritated when we called at scheduled times to get
    updates on his progress. When we finally called the place he was to
    order the part from and discovered it had not been sent (this was on
    the 29th) I decided this cat had run out of lives and
    McBride was McDone! So, I rented a trailer to tow my poor car back to
    my stomping grounds of relative civilization here in
    Nashville.

     

    But
    to my dismay upon arriving in McCrimesville I found that not
    only was my car waiting for me in a muddy lot with engine parts on the
    bare leather seats (and smelling dandy, too) along with dirt all over
    the floor, but this character wanted to charge me for keeping the car
    there even though he never said he would do this in spite of the fact I
    asked on numerous occasions what charges I could expect. Needless to
    say, this did not stop his lovely and graceful wife from brazenly
    asserting that they did not tell me there were these costs because I
    did not ask. He also wanted to charge me for taking the engine parts
    out and making his diagnosis (the latter which he made on site
    Christmas Eve as part of the original AAA call---for which he is paid
    by AAA). The total price he wanted to charge me was more than what I
    was charged to actually get it fixed elsewhere- parts included. 

    <>  

    Naturally,
    Blogbat made a heck of a lot of noise about it both to him and to AAA.
    In the end, he finally realized he wasn’t going to goose me and I drug
    my car home where it was worked on and fixed in about three hours
    total. Hey, maybe I can have him featured on the Budweiser commercial
    spotlighting “Real American Zeros”!  Naa, I'll just let the Better Business Bureau and the Arkansas Attorney General pass the good word on to Bud

     

    Here are some other worthy shots from the holiday scrapbook...

     

    If you ever get stuck in Brinkley, Arkansas, watch out for this vulture

     

    Dogbat had a few things to say to the folks at McBride, too

     

    But for the most part, the trip was pleasant and Dogbat did what he does best

     

     

    Speaking of train wrecks in Arkansas, apparently someone had a little difficulty discerning the “Welcome to Arkansas” sign from the foam firemen put down to slow the progress of bumpy, firey aircraft landings...

     

    Yes, you can’t really see it, but that is…er…was a somewhat large road sign

     

     

    It was good to get back to Tennessee,
    as well as have my convertible back. I will be sending my
    recommendations to Army HQ that they transfer all live fire exercises
    from their location on the beaches of
    Puerto Rico to the more provincial spot of Brinkley, Arkansas. Sure, Arkansas State is there, but honestly, can’t kids learn to read at one of any thousands of sylvan learning centers across the country?

     

    All
    in all however, Blogbat had the time of his life this year. And the New
    Years festivities were no exception. Though the long drive to the
    remote lodge where hundreds of friends and acquaintances were gathered
    was a bit blah, the party was spectacular (even if also the
    overabundance of quiche and the under abundance of good parking were
    not. And I am only commenting on the presence of quiche since it is
    widely known that real men in fact do not eat quiche, and so its
    presence was, as is the case for all, er, most  men,  unsettling.
    Yet again, it also was a source of energy for the girls I danced
    with…and it is a healthy snack, or so I am told). So perhaps it was
    merely the parking and the length of the journey I was at odds with. At
    any rate, it wasn’t New Years at Big Ben this year, but it was a lot of
    fun.

     

     

    Hope you had a safe celebration

     

    -Blogbat

     

     

     

     

Comments (2)

  • Sounds like you had quite an eventful holiday season.  ^_^  Glad it all came out all right.  Happy New Year!

  •  :clap: you, sir have a way with words as well. I'm very glad that you returned safely and that you were not jipped.. i know exactly how that feels.    I have finally gotten around to updating from new years eve.. ahh :scuse_me?: and it was greatness! chekc out the pix they are fun!  Have a super blessed day!    ><> Janga

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories