September 16, 2003



  •  


    I saw my as-yet un-named duck today. He is one of the most personality-ridden ducks I have ever met. Maybe I will call him Howard...though Bill (per a previous blog post-script) still sounds cool. In it I made the comment, "I have been thinking of the name 'Bill' because Bill O'Reiley looks kinda like a duck." I then explained, "I like Bill, but I could see him selling Aflack." I still can see both of those things. Per what Braddock said, although "Steve" is a nice name, I think I would not earn any points with one of my best friends or my uncle if I went that route with the duck. I had a cat once named Tikva (Hope), so maybe I'll go the thought-provoking route...or not, we are still talking about a duck here and I don't think he would want that to happen to him.


     



     


    I wish I could make up my mind about the girls I meet. I go back and forth between interest and disinterest too many times to count within an...hour. It's been like this forever, it seems. Beautiful girls, charming, intelligent, spiritual girls. I have ambivalence. It's not that I vacillate with regard to the physical attraction factor, since they are typically quite attractive. I just am off and on about what I want, if anything, to do about it. Blogbat finds this incredibly frustrating. But he will cease to bore you with his personal affairs, such that they are....


     


    What a full day for the Blogbat. I am finally getting back to the blogs, but I still have a big week ahead. Today I went to Brentwood to do some work and tried a new Mexican restaurant for lunch. It was okay, but I still was hungry afterward...and there were flies everywhere at the outside table we had. I guess that was part of the "authentic" flare they were shooting for. We kept looking around for the cows or road kill that would explain these flies, but to no avail. After this however, all was made right by a trip to Starbucks, where I got my favorite faire. Life goes better with excessive sugar and caffeine. I got a lot of sun today too, from eating outside and cruising around with the top down. I also got to play with horses today. Three mares, one bold, two shy, all deeply interested in the food I had. The bold one was a gorgeous Quarter Horse in great shape and shine, but her hooves looked horrible. The best I could imagine was that her owners were treating them. But they still looked terribly dry. Hope she doesn't founder.


     


     Another wonderfully cool evening, nice to have the windows open. Last night America's Team won against the NY Giants in an overtime game of games. Truly, Blogbat is a happy cat.


    Okay, so sticking to my day job: here's some of what went down today


     


    1. Got a Starbuck's Frap


    2. Let the dog out. (yes, I did it, "woof, woof woof")


    3. Worked on stuff


    4. Had lunch with friends



    5. Worked on some more stuff


    6. Car died, had AAA tow it to my place, tomorrow looks to be a day full of repair bills and rental cars


    7. Did my usual walk and duck visit


    8. Did some other stuff


    9. Wrote this fine and dandy blog


     


    This list is sponsored by the National Abridgate Foundation, sponsoring selected trunkated works since 1974.


     


    "Give me ambiguity...or give me something else."


    ...There's more, but it'll cost you


     


     


    The daily Poo


    “Look stimpy! Eeet's Poooooo!”


     


     

Comments (9)

  • A few quick comments, as sleep is getting the best of me:

    Go Cowboys!

    That is one cool duck.

    Sorry to read about your automobile troubles.

  • Isn't dating just freaking FRUSTRATING?? lol... sometimes I just go through long phases I simply decide not to do it at all. (right now, for instance )

    And yes... a caramel frap can certainly solve all the day's woes. 

  • Name the duck Ben. (Aflack)

  • Name the duck Scotch!  ^_~

    Damn, you made me drool talking about the horses.  Mikey's feet are rather dry and crumbly, too, and he's very well taken care of (just too far away).  It's because we had such a wet summer that's suddenly turned dry.  I think Myra's got him on a Reducin Regime.

    And you can't make up your mind because you haven't met the Right one yet.  She's out there.  ^^

  • Props to Knoxy for having great taste in football teams  :biggrin:

    Caramel Fraps are tasty puppies. Someone in line ordered one of those yesterday and it looked pretty spiffy. I usually get the Irish Creme Latté, but I can never be put in a box, so... which probably can make me as frustrating to my friends at times as dating is to me. Actually, dating wouldn't frustrate so if it didn't end up having so much to do with matters of the heart. Dating as an excuse to eat food in public with cool people is nice, but that is such a "widower" statement, I retract it. I suddenly feel like a Tom Hanks character  :puke:

    LOL Ben Aflack...I'm thinking on that one

    I can't with complete certainty say, but part of me thinks that my heart is still elsewhere (more about that in this sept 7th blog: http://www.xanga.com/item.aspx?user=Blogbat&tab=weblogs&uid=32732311)

    But then again, maybe you are right, Zela. I hope, at least in part, that you are. but sometimes I wonder if she'd get a fair shake  lol.

    Hope Mkey's hooves get better, that might be part of what is wrong with this mare. All the rain then changing temperatures and somewhat dryer weather. But it also looked as if she had thrown her shoes awhile back after they were on way too stinking long, causing some ugly scars in the walls of her hooves. Not so, I protest, if she were mine. I can't see how anybody could neglect something as serious as that for so long, but maybe her owners are new and she will be well-cared for now.

  • >>"Dating as an excuse to eat food in public with cool people"

    Grin... I'm sadly kinda with you on that one. Or someone to hang out at the movies with... or do DVD's at my place. Can't two people 'date' without it having to get so involved.  Lol... does this make me sound like a widower???

     :bugeyes:

  • Only with a sex-change, Tenacity :p

  • Scarring in the walls of her hooves should grow out if they're just the nail marks ~ & foundering isn't caused by dry conditions or anything like that, either, it's an excess of rich food in the horse's diet which causes, basically, inflamation of the laminae (lining of the hoof wall) so as long as they're sensible with her feeds.. it's most common in spring.  The feet aren't so much the cause of it as simply where the symptoms show themselves.

    One of my first horses had a terrible time with shally hooves ~ dry, flaky walls which if not shod correctly would cause her to cast shoes horribly quickly.  We were meticulous with her feet, as we were with all my horses, but I only got her when she was fourteen or fifteen, and the damage had been done.  She died three years later of pedal ostitis caused by the concussion.  I could not have had so many expensive pets without a vet for a mother, that's for sure!

  • A horse person? Thanks for the info (bows to the equine-yoda). Wow, to have had a vet in the family, it would have saved a bundle, even though most of my horses were somewhat easy keeps, as far as that goes. Do you ride dressage or hunt seat?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories